‘Doctor Who’ Alum Matt Smith Cast in Netflix’s ‘The Crown’ with John Lithgow, Claire Foy

has found its cast for “The Crown,” an original decades-spanning drama about Queen Elizabeth II and the Prime Ministers who shaped post-war Britain. The 10-episode series will premiere in 2016.

Claire Foy (“Wolf Hall”) will play Queen Elizabeth II; Matt Smith (“Doctor Who”) will play Philip Mountbatten, Duke of Edinburgh; and John Lithgow (“Third Rock from the Sun”) will play Sir Winston Churchill.

The story is too old to be commented.